Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Recording playback

Record your Blackboard Collaborate Ultra sessions so that your participants can access presentations whenever they need them. Stop and restart whenever you need to, and when finished, locate them to share.

Recorded Blackboard Collaborate Ultra sessions are compressed and saved as MP4s. Recordings include activity in the live session.

  • Audio
  • Any content shared or active speaker video. If both are shared during the session, only the content shared is recorded.
  • Chat messages in the Everyone channel. Private messages and chat messages in breakout groups are not recorded.

Only moderators can turn recording on in sessions. Everyone can view the recordings from any device as often as they want. There are no view limits.


To view the recording in a Canvas Couse click the Collaborate Ultra link on the course navigation then click the menu in the upper left corner of the screen.

Sessions menu


Select Recordings

Recordings button


Click the ellipsis next to the video that you would like to watch.

Select Watch now.

Watch now button


As an alternative, instructors can provide a link to the recording, but the recording settings must be changed to allow public access. 

Record settings


Failure to allow public access will result in an error message.

This recording isn't available to view error





Keywords:Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Recording playback   Doc ID:106381
Owner:Mike K.Group:UW Stout
Created:2020-10-05 13:59 CDTUpdated:2020-10-06 09:21 CDT
Sites:UW Stout
Feedback:  0   0