Teams: Breakout Rooms Resources and FAQ
Teams Breakout Rooms resources and Frequently Asked Questions
Create and Manage Breakout Rooms (Educators and Students)
Frequently Asked Questions
Who can start a breakout room?
- Only the meeting organizer can start breakout rooms.
- You can not pre-assign attendees at this time.
How can I use breakout rooms?
- The meeting organizer can start a breakout room on the desktop client only.
- Participants can join a breakout room from desktop, web or mobile.
- A meeting organizer can create up to 50 breakout rooms
- Participants can be automatically or manually assigned into rooms
- Meeting organizers can join any of the breakout sessions.
- The meeting organizer can create, rename, and delete rooms as needed.
- Organizers can send announcements to the breakout rooms, and recall all participants back to the main meeting at any time.
- Any files from the breakout rooms can be shared in the main meeting once everyone is back together and will be available afterwards in the meeting chat.
How do I make sure I can start using breakout rooms?
- Make sure that the new meeting experience is enabled (Teams > Settings > General > Check Turn on new meeting experience)
- Check and make sure you have the latest Teams updates (Clicking your profile picture in Teams and select Check for updates.)
I’m an educator, what will my students be able to do?
- Educators will have the option to push students into the breakout rooms and pull them back to the main meeting, without any additional action needed by the student.
- Students can use the whiteboard or screen share
- Since breakout rooms are Teams meetings, the same security policies and options apply to the breakout room.