Blackboard Collaborate Ultra - Using the Chat Tool as a Participant
This article explains how participants can use the text chat tool in Blackboard Collaborate Ultra.
In a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra session, you can send text chat messages if the moderator has allowed it as part of the session settings. Chrome is the preferred browser for use with Ultra as it provides the fullest functionality with the tools. To get started, launch your Chrome browser. If you do not have Chrome installed on your computer, you can get if from Software Center.
|In order to send chat messages, you must open the Chat panel, which is located under the Collaborate panel. To access the Collaborate panel, go to the lower right-hand corner of your screen and click on the purple double arrowhead icon.|
|The first time you open the Collaborate panel, it will open the Chat panel by default. The Collaborate panel also gives access to the Participants list, the content sharing area, and the My Settings area. You can tell which of the tools you are using because its color will change to purple.|
|Next, go to the bottom of the Chat panel and type your message in the window where it says, “Say something.”|
|You will be able to see what you have typed before it is sent to others.|
|Then, if you wish to, you can add an emoticon by clicking on the triangle to the right of the smiley face and then clicking on the emoticon you wish to add to your message.|
Some things to Keep in Mind:
- The messages you send using the Chat tool are not private. They will be seen by everyone in the session.
- If the moderator records the session, any chats you send will be recorded and they will be viewable in the recording.
- You will only see messages that are sent after you enter the session. You will not see any messages that were sent before you entered the session.
- Your moderator may have rules governing the use of humor or sarcasm in the posting of chat messages.