Topics Map >

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra - Promoting and Demoting Participants

This article explains how to promote and demote participants in Blackboard Collaborate Ultra

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra - Promoting and Demoting Participants
Note: Google Chrome is the recommended browser for use with Blackboard Collaborate Ultra. If you do not have Chrome installed on your computer, you can get if from Software Center.

When you are in a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra session as a moderator, you may want to change the roles of certain users during the course of a session. You can promote or demote participants, make them the captioner, or even remove them from the session. All of these operations are easy to do and are accessed in the same place.


Blackboard Collaborate Ultra-Promoting and Demoting Participants
To get started, open the Collaborate Panel by going to the lower right-hand corner of your screen and clicking on the purple button with the double arrowhead in it.
Button that opens Collaborare Panel

When the Collaborate panel opens, click on the Participant List button.
collaborate panel with participants button highlighted

Your Participants List should open, showing you and all other session participants.
view of the participants list

When you mouse over the name of a participant, icons will appear. When you see the icons appear, click on the circle with the three dots in it.
attendee with icons showing with arrow pointing to icon

After you click, you will see a menu of choices below the participant’s name. Click on role you wish to assign to that participant. 
list of roles moderator can choose for participant

If you have promoted a participant to moderator or presenter status, you can demote them to participant status by reopening this menu. If necessary, you may even remove a participant from the session.
list of roles moderator can choose after participant has been promoted

If you have many participants in a session, it may be easiest to find a participant by using the search feature. To do this, click on the magnifying glass icon and start typing the participant’s name in the search box that opens. The more letters you type, the more it will narrow the list.
participant list with search being used


Things to Keep in Mind
  • It is advisable to only promote participants to the Presenter role unless they will actually be helping you to moderate the session.
  • It is only necessary to promote someone to Presenter role if they are presenting but not moderating the meeting. 
  • The Captioner role is the person/people who will type in captions as the meeting progresses, if closed captioning is enabled. Note: Learning Technology Services (LTS) does not provide or pay for the use of session captioners.
If you would like training or assistance with Collaborate Ultra, please contact Rich Berg at Learning Technology Services (LTS). Rich Berg • bergr@uwstout.edu • 715-232-1223



Keywords:blackboard collaborate ultra, collaborate ultra, collaborate ultra promote, ultra promote, collaborate ultra participants, ultra participants, blackboard collaborate ultra tutorial, collaborate ultra tutorial, collaborate tutorial, ultra tutorial   Doc ID:67316
Owner:Rich B.Group:UW Stout
Created:2016-09-28 09:55 CSTUpdated:2016-11-07 13:45 CST
Sites:UW Stout
Feedback:  0   0