Blackboard Collaborate Ultra - Presenting

This article explains how to present in a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra session.

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra - Presenting
Note: Google Chrome is the recommended browser for use with Blackboard Collaborate Ultra. If you do not have Chrome installed on your computer, you can get if from Software Center.

In order to present content in a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra session, you must  have either Moderator or Presenter status. If you only have Participant status, you will not be able to present content in the session.


If the moderator gives you presenter status, a message will pop up, telling you that you are now a presenter.
Notification window that tells you that you are a presenter

Go to the lower right-hand corner of the screen and click on the purple button with the double arrowhead in it to open the Collaborate panel.
collaborate panel opener button

Then click on the Participant list tab.
collaborate tool bar with participants list button highlighted

You will also see the word “Presenter” under your name in the list.
participants list with arrow pointing to presenter status for one participant

After you have been given Presenter status, you are ready to begin sharing.


Start by opening the Collaborate panel and going to the Share Content tab.
collaborate panel toolbar with sharing button highlighted

In the Share Content panel, click on the Share Files tab.
share content window

When the Share Files window opens, you will see a list of all the uploaded files in the session. If you do not see your file, you may drag the file into the Add Files Here box or you may click the box and browse for your file.
share files window

Once your file has been added, click on it so it highlights in black.
share files window with arrows indicating selected file

After the file is highlighted, click on the Share Now button at the bottom of the panel.
share now button

After you click on the Share Now button, your slides will show up in a list. Click on the slide that you wish to show.
list of slides in presentation

After you show your first slide, you may keep using the slide list to navigate or you may use the forward and back arrows which will be located slightly above the main meeting toolbar.
controller that enables slides to be advanced or replayed

You may use the markup tools in the upper left-hand corner of the screen if you want to point out things, draw lines or shapes, or type on the slide.
markup tools toolbar

When you are finished, you can stop sharing by clicking on the Stop Sharing button which will be located in the upper right-hand corner of the area where the slides are showing.
stop sharing button


Things to keep in mind:
  • You need to remember to unmute your microphone when it is your turn to present. If your microphone is muted, nobody will be able to hear you.
  • Your PowerPoint slides are not editable once they have been uploaded to Collaborate Ultra.
  • Collaborate Ultra only accepts PowerPoint, PDF, and image files. It will not accept any other types of files. If you need to work with a different type of file, use the Share Application tool.
  • If multiple people are presenting, it may be hard to distinguish between the slide sets if they all have similar file names. It is advisable to save a copy of your slide set renamed with your name so you can easily pick it from the list.
If you would like training or assistance with Blackboard Collaborate Ultra, please contact the Instructional Technology Consultant for your college.




Keywords:blackboard collaborate ultra, collaborate ultra, presenting in blackboard collaborate ultra, presenting in collaborate ultra, blackboard collaborate ultra tutorial, collaborate ultra tutorial, collaborate tutorial, ultra tutorial   Doc ID:67406
Owner:Rich B.Group:UW Stout
Created:2016-09-30 15:05 CDTUpdated:2017-05-02 11:30 CDT
Sites:UW Stout
Feedback:  0   0