Camtasia Quick Tips: Lock and Disable Tracks

This article explains how to lock and disable tracks in Camtasia

Camtasia 9 is available to UW-Stout faculty and staff at no charge through the Key Server.

PC users should go their Software Center desktop app and install Camtasia 9. Instructions on using software center for PC are located here.

Mac users can use Self Service to install Camtasia 9. Instructions on how to install for a Mac are located here.

Your LTS Instructional Technology Consultant can assist you with downloading the software.



In Camtasia 9, there are two track tools to assist you with editing.

The first tool is the Lock tool. When you click on the Lock tool the Lock icon becomes active and you can tell that your track is locked by the crosshatching that appears.

lock icon active


Locking a track is very useful if you want to edit other tracks without affecting the track that's locked.


To unlock a track, simply click on the Lock icon again.





The other tool is the Disable tool. When you click on the Disable tool, the Disable tool icon becomes active and the track is blacked out.

disable icon active


This is a useful tool when you want to play back your movie without a certain track showing.


To reenable a track,  simply click on the Disable icon again.


Keep in mind that if you share a movie with a disabled track, that track will not appear in the finished product.


If you have any questions, please contact Learning Technology Services and someone will assist you.

To view the video version of this quick tip, please follow this link:




Keywords:camtasia, camtasia 9, camtasia help, camtasia tutorials, camtasia 9 help, camtasia 9 tutorials, lock track, disable track, camtasia lock track, camtasia disable track, camtasia 9 lock track, camtasia 9 disable track.   Doc ID:73377
Owner:Rich B.Group:UW Stout
Created:2017-05-18 14:47 CSTUpdated:2017-07-31 12:47 CST
Sites:UW Stout
Feedback:  0   0