SharePoint: Stop Syncing a Document Library

If there comes a time that you want to STOP syncing a document library, follow these directions.

Warning

If you do NOT complete the unsync steps then you will delete the actual SharePoint folder. Deleting the SharePoint folder will remove it for ALL users.
If you see this error:

"Deleting an online-only folder permanently removes it from your PC without sending it to the Recycle Bin."

Click No and follow the steps below.



  1. In the bottom left of your screen, click the blue cloud icon.

    Blue OneDrive cloud icon

  2. Select More > Settings.

  3. Click the Account tab.

    Under the Account tab, Stop Sync on the desired folder.

  4. Locate the folder you would like to remove and click Stop Sync.

  5. Click Stop Sync to confirm.

    Confirm that you would like to "Stop Sync"

  6. Now, navigate to the SharePoint folder you would like to remove.
    **Note that this folder will no longer have an icon under the Status category**

    Delete the SharePoint folder. Make sure the Status category is empty.

  7. Select the folder then, in the top ribbon, click Delete.



Keywords:sharepoint share point sync unsync document library folder folders remove stop   Doc ID:94271
Owner:Larissa H.Group:UW Stout
Created:2019-09-03 14:54 CDTUpdated:2019-09-03 16:08 CDT
Sites:UW Stout
Feedback:  0   0