Blackboard Collaborate Ultra: Differences Between Session Roles
This document contains information about the various roles that can be assigned to attendees in Blackboard Collaborate Ultra sessions.
Attendees can be moderators, presenters, participants, and captioners in Blackboard Collaborate Ultra. You can see who is assigned to what role in the attendees panels.
Moderators have full control over content being shared and can make other attendees presenters or moderators. Moderators can see hand raise notifications and can lower hands. They can remove attendees from sessions, but they cannot remove other moderators. Moderators can set the session settings, including deciding what participants can and cannot do.
The presenter role is designed to allow students to present without giving them full moderator privileges. Presenters can upload, share, edit, and stop sharing content. They can also see hand raise notifications and can lower hands.
Participants can enable and disable notifications, such as when attendees enter and leave a session or when someone has posted to the chat. Moderators determine whether participants can share audio and video, chat, and draw on the whiteboard and share files.
The captioner role is designed to provide an accessible learning experience for students who are deaf or hard of hearing, as well as students whose native language is different from the moderator's. An attendee is assigned this role by a moderator. The captioner is given an area to type what is being said. Other participants can view what the captioner is typing in real time. You can have multiple captioners for multiple languages.
For more information on session roles in Blackboard Collaborate Ultra, click here