Topics Map > Service Catalog > Device support > Asset Management

Asset Management -- Preparing to surplus or reassign an iPad or iPod

Users must remove assigned iPads from their iCloud accounts

   
Apple provides users with tools to help them find or recover their devices when lost or stolen. If users of campus iPads or iPods activate the “Find My iPhone” feature on a device, it must be deactivated before it can be used by another employee or sent to surplus.

Employees leaving the university or reassigning their iPads must remove the iPads from their iCloud accounts or the devices will be rendered unusable. Help Desk staff will be unable to assist until the previous user removes their device from their account. More information, including instructions, can be found on the Apple website or by contacting the Technology Help Desk.



Quick steps to erase an iPad:
To erase content and settings on an iPad navigate:

 

Settings

 Settings >
  General >
    Reset >
      Erase All Content and Settings

After erasing content and settings, "Find My iPhone" and "Activation Lock" are also turned off.


See Also:




Keywords:iPad iPod ios wipe erase reset   Doc ID:57910
Owner:Sasha K.Group:UW Stout
Created:2015-11-02 13:59 CDTUpdated:2016-06-23 12:03 CDT
Sites:UW Stout
Feedback:  1   0